Spelt Tortilla wraps and Vegan Cashew ‘Mayo’

photo 1-1

I am desperately trying to cut down on the amount of processed bread and the like in our house, and especially don’t want to give it to Poppy, so I have been experimenting with spelt flour. I did make a lovely loaf a week or so ago but I really don’t have time to be doing that very often. Then I discovered a delicious recipe for home made tortilla wraps, although it took a little preparation as it had to sit for 1 1/2 hours. The result was great though and the recipe is here (I recently bought some measuring cups because every recipe I fine seems to use cups and converting them has always freaked me out!)

photo 2-1

Today I tried a slightly different recipe, no salt and no waiting (well, 15 minutes, but that’s no biggie). They still tasted great, so fresh and way better than shop bought, and the recipe is just so easy and quick. I would say the others were a teeny weeny bit better on the texture and taste front, but to save an hour I am more than happy to stick with these, and I can see them becoming a very regular thing in our house.

photo 3

We spread them with delicious cashew nut vegan mayo, because I am also cutting out processed ‘extras’ that I add to my fresh, healthy meals, making it feel like I am undoing all the goodness! It doesn’t taste that much like real mayo, but it can be used in the same way, it is ten times more delicious and very healthy! Mine turns out quite coarse because I don’t have an all singing food processor, but I like it that way. We packed the wraps with salad and enjoyed a very filling lunch. Poppy was impressed too! Here are both of the recipes, for the wraps and the mayo!

photo 4-4

Spelt Tortilla Wraps:

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups spelt flour
3 tablespoons olive oil or coconut oil
1/2 cup plus 4 tablespoons warm water

Method:

Mix the flour and oil together.
Add the water, mix and then form into a ball.
Leave for 15 minutes before breaking bits off and rolling into balls.
Roll out each ball of dough until it is paper thin.
Place in a preheated frying pan (we didn’t need any oil in our ceramic coated pan, the hotter the pan the quicker they will cook) until they start to bubble. Turn over and cook for the same amount of time on the other side.

photo 1-2

Cashew Mayo:

Ingredients:

Large handful of cashew nuts
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
2 dates or other sweetener (honey, agave syrup, maple syrup)
1 clove garlic
5 tablespoons water (you can add more if it needs to be more creamy)
Pinch of salt (optional)

Method:

Blend all of the ingredients together and use as required!

photo 3-1

Leave a Reply

